• 22 March
    2 weeks: Mon, Tue & Wed 7:00PM - 9:15PM
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 22 Mar 19:00 AEDT - Mon 22 Mar 21:15 AEDT
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 23 Mar 19:00 AEDT - Tue 23 Mar 21:15 AEDT
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 24 Mar 19:00 AEDT - Wed 24 Mar 21:15 AEDT
    Online
    Session 4
    Mon 29 Mar 19:00 AEDT - Mon 29 Mar 21:15 AEDT
    Online
    Session 5
    Tue 30 Mar 19:00 AEDT - Tue 30 Mar 21:15 AEDT
    Online
    Session 6
    Wed 31 Mar 19:00 AEDT - Wed 31 Mar 21:15 AEDT
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 22 April
    2 full days
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Thu 22 Apr 09:00 AEST - Thu 22 Apr 16:30 AEST
    Online
    Session 2
    Fri 23 Apr 09:00 AEST - Fri 23 Apr 16:30 AEST
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 8 May
    3 Saturday Sessions
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Sat 08 May 10:00 AEST - Sat 08 May 15:00 AEST
    Online
    Session 2
    Sat 15 May 10:00 AEST - Sat 15 May 15:00 AEST
    Online
    Session 3
    Sat 22 May 10:00 AEST - Sat 22 May 15:00 AEST
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 11 May
    2 weeks: Tue, Wed & Thur 7:00PM - 9:15PM
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Tue 11 May 19:00 AEST - Tue 11 May 21:15 AEST
    Online
    Session 2
    Wed 12 May 19:00 AEST - Wed 12 May 21:15 AEST
    Online
    Session 3
    Thu 13 May 19:00 AEST - Thu 13 May 21:15 AEST
    Online
    Session 4
    Tue 18 May 19:00 AEST - Tue 18 May 21:15 AEST
    Online
    Session 5
    Wed 19 May 19:00 AEST - Wed 19 May 21:15 AEST
    Online
    Session 6
    Thu 20 May 19:00 AEST - Thu 20 May 21:15 AEST
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 19 May
    2 full days
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Wed 19 May 09:00 AEST - Wed 19 May 16:30 AEST
    Online
    Session 2
    Thu 20 May 09:00 AEST - Thu 20 May 16:30 AEST
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 31 May
    2 full days
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 31 May 09:00 AEST - Mon 31 May 16:30 AEST
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 01 Jun 09:00 AEST - Tue 01 Jun 16:30 AEST
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 10 June
    2 full days
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Thu 10 Jun 09:00 AEST - Thu 10 Jun 16:30 AEST
    Online
    Session 2
    Fri 11 Jun 09:00 AEST - Fri 11 Jun 16:30 AEST
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 28 June
    3 short days
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 28 Jun 10:00 AEST - Mon 28 Jun 15:00 AEST
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 29 Jun 10:00 AEST - Tue 29 Jun 15:00 AEST
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 30 Jun 10:00 AEST - Wed 30 Jun 15:00 AEST
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 22 July
    2 full days
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Thu 22 Jul 09:00 AEST - Thu 22 Jul 16:30 AEST
    Online
    Session 2
    Fri 23 Jul 09:00 AEST - Fri 23 Jul 16:30 AEST
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 5 August
    2 full days
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Thu 05 Aug 09:00 AEST - Thu 05 Aug 16:30 AEST
    Online
    Session 2
    Fri 06 Aug 09:00 AEST - Fri 06 Aug 16:30 AEST
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 23 August
    2 full days
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 23 Aug 09:00 AEST - Mon 23 Aug 16:30 AEST
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 24 Aug 09:00 AEST - Tue 24 Aug 16:30 AEST
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 1 September
    2 full days
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Wed 01 Sep 09:00 AEST - Wed 01 Sep 16:30 AEST
    Online
    Session 2
    Thu 02 Sep 09:00 AEST - Thu 02 Sep 16:30 AEST
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 12 October
    2 weeks: Tues, Wed & Thur 7:00PM - 9:15PM
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Tue 12 Oct 19:00 AEDT - Tue 12 Oct 21:15 AEDT
    Online
    Session 2
    Wed 13 Oct 19:00 AEDT - Wed 13 Oct 21:15 AEDT
    Online
    Session 3
    Thu 14 Oct 19:00 AEDT - Thu 14 Oct 21:15 AEDT
    Online
    Session 4
    Tue 19 Oct 19:00 AEDT - Tue 19 Oct 21:15 AEDT
    Online
    Session 5
    Wed 20 Oct 19:00 AEDT - Wed 20 Oct 21:15 AEDT
    Online
    Session 6
    Thu 21 Oct 19:00 AEDT - Thu 21 Oct 21:15 AEDT
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 22 November
    2 full days
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 22 Nov 09:00 AEDT - Mon 22 Nov 16:30 AEDT
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 23 Nov 09:00 AEDT - Tue 23 Nov 16:30 AEDT
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
  • 8 December
    2 full days
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Wed 08 Dec 09:00 AEDT - Wed 08 Dec 16:30 AEDT
    Online
    Session 2
    Thu 09 Dec 09:00 AEDT - Thu 09 Dec 16:30 AEDT
    Online
    • PD hours: 13
    • Student $395.00 incl. GST
    • Parent/Carer $440.00 incl. GST
    • Super Early Bird $556.00 incl. GST
    • $695.00 incl. GST
None of these dates work for you? Suggest another date & time

Description

This intensive two-day interactive training is designed to teach educational teams and parents the theory and protocol for the Picture Exchange Communication System (PECS), an evidence based practise. We begin with identifying key components to designing effective educational environments that foster communication. Through presenter demonstrations, video examples and role-play, you will learn the six phases of PECS, including how to teach spontaneous requests, attributes for expanding language, responding to questions and commenting. The workshop concludes with discussions about the relation between PECS and speech as well as criteria for transitioning from PECS to other communication modalities, such as speech generating devices (SGD).

WHAT YOU WILL LEARN

  • Identify key components to designing an enriched learning environment using the Pyramid Approach to Education.
  • Identify strategies for creating opportunities for communication across the day
  • Implement the six phases of the PECS protocol
  • Discuss the evidence about PECS and its relationship to speech
  • Examine the criteria for transitioning from PECS to other communication modalities such as speech and SGDs